i Cryptic Crossword 1153 Quixote

October 20, 2014

I made a right meal of this, finishing in about twice my usual time for a Monday. Quite a few unknowns, and the nonsense homophone at 19ac muddying the waters.

COD? 1d – ‘Doctor turning up with others at university home in the morning (10)’.

Here’s our first 2010 blog of the year:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/01/14/independent-on-sunday-1039-by-quixote-10-jan-2010/

7 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1153 Quixote”

  1. I agree about 19ac.

    I have a slight problem with 1dn. It seems to me that ‘university’ is otiose. As I read it…

    Doctor = definition.

    ‘turning’ = reversal of:

    up with others = etal up

    at university [why? we have ‘u’ in ‘up’ else where does the ‘p’ come from] home in the morning = in am

    The whole [reversed] to give: manipulate.

    Or am I missing something, particularly regarding ‘p’?

  2. jonofwales said

    The reversal indicator is ‘turning up’.

    ETAL UP (at university) IN AM all reversed.

  3. Collins has it as any university but others have it as ‘especially Oxbridge’.

  4. dtw42 said

    The problem with 19ac is only partly the dodgy homophone, and partly the word from the clue that turns out to also be in the answer. Surely “Bit of armour…” would have solved that simply enough?

Comments are closed.

