i Cryptic Crossword 1140 by Phi

October 11, 2014

Saturday 4th Octoer 2014

The easiest solve I’ve had from Phi that I can remember; all bar 11across falling without significant resistance. Maybe I’m getting used to him…

COD for me was the easy but pleasing 13 across:

One doesn’t forget soccer player backing hard worker (8)

And for anyone who feels excluded by the ‘in-on-it’ cliquey-ness of Ninas, last Saturday gave us the prize winner, surely, for the most obscure Nina ever.   Nina Kazakova, it turns out, is the only real-life Nina that Phi has ever known – an ex-colleague, he tells us in the comments section of fifteensquared here: http://www.fifteensquared.net/2009/10/09/independent-7171-by-phi/  and there she is, bold as brass, in the unches of row 12!  But of course a puzzle should stand or fall on the quality of its clues – the Nina is just there as a bit of fun for the setter really – isn’t it?

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1140 by Phi”

  1. jonofwales said

    I don’t usually hunt for the Ninas with Phi puzzles, as I don’t usually need any extra help to finish. I solved this one in the chaos of a children’s play centre, so claim a handicap. Took an age to get the snake.

  2. Cornick said

    I just look for them because they’re there! 🙂

Comments are closed.

