i Cryptic Crossword 1145 Nestor

October 10, 2014

A nice puzzle that I didn’t mean to solve yet, but kept spotting answers when I was glancing at the paper, and ended up filling the grid. Easier than I expected when I saw the setter, but glad Fifteensquared was on hand to explain one or two, 21ac notably.

COD? Loads I liked, but I’m nominating 24ac – ‘Unknown bather crushed in very cramped pants? (5,9)’.

Here’s the 2009 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2009/11/19/independent-7206-by-nestor/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1145 Nestor”

  1. Cornick said

    Similar difficulty to yesterday’s Hypnos, I thought, but much more enjoyable somehow. Very pleased to parse 21a, my LOI, but, although I got 5d okay, I wouldn’t have parsed it in a month of Sundays!

  2. Justin said

    Finally got this done this morning; thanks to all for the blog and discussion so I more or less understand it! Just one remaining query: What is the function of ” voting” at the end of 3D? Seems to me the clue would work fine ending with “election.”

    • jonofwales said

      I think it’s fairer with voting, TBH. A general election campaign can point to many things, voting to just the poll itself. And when I have a Nestor to solve, I’ll take every crumb I’m given. 🙂

Comments are closed.

