i Cryptic Crossword 1136 Virgilius

September 30, 2014

A nice quick solve from Virgilius, with a fairly well flagged theme.

COD? I’m can’t remember if Afghanistan’s still war-torn these days, I’ve lost track of all the wars we’re caught up in. But because it’s so well done, anyway, I’m nominating 18/10/29 – ‘Incomplete peace now celebrated wildly outside war-torn city threatened from both sides (7,1,4,3,1,4,5)’.

Here’s the 2009 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2009/10/06/independent-7168virgilius/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1136 Virgilius”

  1. Loulou said

    This was one of those crosswords where if you got the two long solutions , you were home and dry. I couldn’t get either so gave up with hardly any solved. Not at all enjoyable in my book .

    • jonofwales said

      The trick with these long phrases I find is to try and get some of the letters in, picking off easier clues here and there across the grid. The hidden words, and a few anagrams got me started on this.

  2. Loulou said

    Problem was that I didn’t get many of them -I don’t think I have ever heard of psaltery , scylla and charbydis or ens . Take out those and the two long uns and you haven’t got much to go on.

  3. Cornick said

    In the case of Jonofwales’ COD above we were given the enumeration: 7,1,4,3,1,4,5. Bearing in mind that 1s will be either ‘I’ or ‘a’ and 3s will likely be ‘the’ or ‘and’… Definition almost certainly: ‘threatened from both sides’= 7 a 4 and a 4,5 ..stare at it a while…think… think some more…Bingo!

Comments are closed.

