i Cryptic Crossword 1126 Glow-Worm

September 18, 2014

A first look through yielded only 4 clues, at which point I thought I was in real trouble. Put it to one side for a while, and then promptly filled in the grid, with only a few hold-ups. One or two I didn’t understand, and I failed to register the typo.

Lots I liked, but my COD nomination goes to 17ac – ‘Stuffy female’s twin topless chums keep date (5-5)’.

Here’s the 2009 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2009/11/23/independent-7203-by-glow-worm/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1126 Glow-Worm”

  1. dtw42 said

    Agreed on the “one or two I didn’t understand” front. Didn’t think much of “Coastline? (6)”

  2. Cornick said

    Can anyone remember a one word clue that was also a good clue? I can’t, but I bet it’s been done…

    • Cornick said

      To answer my own question, I recall just a blank space for ‘clueless’ then there’s Araucaria’s classic HIJKLMNO (5) for ‘water’ and Gegs (9,4) for ‘scrambled eggs’. Still, happy to see Glow-worm giving it a go!

  3. Cornick said

    Ha! 🙂 How about this old one then: Equus? (9)

    • jonofwales said

      It helps if you know the play. 🙂 horseplay

      • Cornick said

        Yay! And a cracking good play it is too. Recently revived with Daniel Radcliffe, if memory serves.
        Got today’s theme from the enumerations almost before solving any, which made all the across clues very quick indeed 🙂

Comments are closed.

