i Cryptic Crossword 1090 Hypnos

August 7, 2014

There was a lot of praise for this back in the day, but I was less than impressed. Far too many obscurities (20ac being the worst offender), far too much for a weekday. I’m still not clear how 25ac is supposed to work, even after reading the blog. The fact that 27ac was totally missed from the clues as printed today only compounded matters.

Here’s the 2009 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2009/08/10/independent-7119-by-hypnos/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1090 Hypnos”

  1. Cornick said

    Similarly mystified by 25ac. Typo??

    • lizard said

      Is it a hybrid version of the original 25ac and 27ac? I can see “like an outcast” (if there was an “l”!) could be “disowned”.

      • jonofwales said

        I think you could be right. It’s no wonder I struggled round that area. 🙂

      • Simon said

        I think that’s exactly what’s happened. I can see 25ac being something like “Deny scandal among Geordies”. 27 is anyone’s guess, but outcast/disowned potentially makes sense.

        Otherwise, yeah, quite a fiddly sort of challenge. Thankfully I’d read a bit of Chandler, but there was some horribly obscure stuff in there. 23 across could have been any combination of those letters, for example.

      • Cornick said

        Ooh, a puzzle within a puzzle! Good thinking, Lizard… so what might the end of 25 have said, or the start of 27?

Comments are closed.

