i Cryptic Crossword 1084 by Tyrus

July 31, 2014

When I first looked through these clues I thought ‘God, I’m not going to be able to do any of these’ but, slowly, one by one, they are starting to yield.  I’m off to the woods again to build dens (it’s what passes for a job during holiday season in Cornwall) so, when I return to Computerland around 6pm, I shall let you know whether or not I finished!

Meanwhile, if you want the answers, click here for the 2009 blog.

Slow, slow, quick, quick, slow in the woods for me.  Made a silly mistake with 8ac and put in ‘Hurleys’ rather than ‘earlies’ which stopped me getting 4d or 6d.  Durr.  Apart from that I also failed on the ninja/ mcjob intersection NW 😦 .

However there was some delightful invention in this stiff challenge from Tyrus.  My COD?

14ac Nightwear’s on the ground – that’s surprising (3,6,1,5)

 

One Response to “i Cryptic Crossword 1084 by Tyrus”

  1. Cornick said

    I should also say that the idea for the Nina – using Nina Nannar and Nina Simone top and bottom and then referring to it in 1down: ninja was pure genius. Only wish I’d noticed it!

Comments are closed.

