i Cryptic Crossword 1082 by Morph

July 29, 2014

Absolutely brilliant from Morph who, although only an occasional setter in the i, is rapidly becoming one of my favourites.  Seven countries appear, not as themselves, but rather as homophones.  I.e. Rusher, Garner, Grease, Marley, Chilli, Louse and Career(s).  The whole theme was indicated by the word ‘intonation’, which is itself a homophone for ‘into nation’.  Although some of the commentators on fifteensquared, don’t like this sort of punnery, for me it’s the life-blood of crosswords! 

COD: 11ac  The way you say things can turn each of 1, 4, 12, 18, 20, 23 and 14 (twice) this (10)

Original blog here.

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1082 by Morph”

  1. Justin said

    Even after reading the blog, I still can’t make any sense of 12ac. Anyone care to enlighten me?

    • Cornick said

      ‘Arranges’ gives you ‘agrees’; then you have to make the a and s (‘a second’) from each end of agrees ‘meet internally’ i.e. sort of slide inwards, to give you ‘grease’. Very convoluted, I admit!

Comments are closed.

