i Cryptic Crossword 1079 by Monk

July 25, 2014

JonofWales is away for a week, so I shall be deputising.  Not a particularly useful start by me though, as I shan’t be near a computer till this evening, alas ( I’m running den building in the Lost Gardens of Heligan – definitely off the net!).

Meanwhile my contemporary at the University of Leeds (1978 – 81), Mark Kelmanson, is working partly as a Maths professor and partly as Monk, today’s setter.  Monk has a fairly fearsome reputation, but, half way through, I’ve found this one fairly gentle so far.  No time to finish it now, but here’s a link to the 2009 blog which seems to be complete (although I was looking at it through scrunched-up eyes so that I couldn’t see the answers!):

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2009/07/27/independent-7107-by-monk/

Finished with less difficulty than some Monks… Didn’t get the word play on 23a or 24a (my fault, was thinking of dugongs not manatees) and, although I spotted the Nina, I didn’t know it came from The Fast Show – mater paneer = cheesy peas, arf!

COD 12ac: Plan possibly used at Mafeking? (6,3)

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1079 by Monk”

  1. dtw42 said

    Glad you had little trouble – I nearly gave up just over halfway. Got there in the end … with help. 1ac was particularly sneaky.

  2. Cornick said

    First half was little trouble; second half just gentle mulling over throughout the day in odd moments under the trees. Took me ages… that’s what I liked about it!

Comments are closed.

