i Cryptic Crossword 1050 by Phi

July 12, 2014

Saturday 5th July 2014

Reasonably straightforward Phi last Saturday, enjoyable as ever.  I took ages on 12ac as I only knew ‘lumber’ in the sense of timber, and 14d took a bit of head scratching till I worked out it must be Nicholas Hawksmoor – nice clue…  However 6d, answer: ‘The Angel of the North’, had a clue which read: ‘Statue erected near Newcastle? Then flog another off’, and it gets my vote for the easiest clue of the year.  Still, Phi lives in New Zealand, so maybe that explains it!

 My COD is 18ac:

I fly round black line on map (6)

 The 2009 blog is complete (as they generally are these days) and here.

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1050 by Phi”

  1. jonofwales said

    Yes, easiest clue of the year easily. Different kettle of fish today. 😉

  2. dtw42 said

    Quite so. I’m still struggling with it and will have another crack in the morning…

Comments are closed.

