i Cryptic Crossword 1048 Anax

June 19, 2014

One of the comments in the original blog judged that ‘the amount of difficulty and intrigue [was] judged perfectly for a Bank Holiday.’ Not, perhaps, for a normal weekday. Very hard, as others have noted, and I ran out of time with four or five still to go. If it hadn’t been for the fairly obvious 3/12, I’m not sure how much progress I would have made.

COD? 13d – ‘Trap that is full of .. um, sand? (4,6)’.

The 2009 blog is complete.

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2009/08/31/independent-7137-by-anax/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1048 Anax”

  1. Cornick said

    If not strictly his first for the Independent, is this the first time we’ve met Anax in the i? I can’t remember seeing his name before but shall look forward to more.

    15ac my fave amongst several crackers.

  2. I don’t do the I crossword regularly, but for some reason had a go at this one and failed to finish it. Worse, I didn’t buy the paper on the following day so remain ignorant. Sigh. I found some of the clues a bit tortuous, but quite liked 13d, if only because using the whole ‘id est’ rather than simply ‘ie’ is unusual.

  3. Cornick said

    Thursdays and Fridays quite often tend towards the tortuous. If you prefer your crosswords smooth then look out for Dac on a Wednesday (usually), Phi on Saturday (ditto) or many people’s favourite, Virgilius most Tuesdays. 🙂

Comments are closed.

