i Cryptic Crossword 1020 by Phi

May 24, 2014

Saturday 17th May 2014

Anyone for opera?  Not my bag alas, but it was good to see Phi getting ten titles plus 11d ‘opera’, into the grid; I can’t remember him squeezing in quite so many themed words before. 

‘Jenufa’ and ‘Xerxes’ were both new to me and  I’d have guessed ‘Don Carlos’ was a character from an opera rather than an actual title, but that is all very much to my shame. Never the less, I did almost manage to finish unaided; ‘almost’ because LOI Jenufa needed a quick dip into the Oxford Dictionary of Music to check there wasn’t an opera called ‘Janufe’! 

To show I’ve no hard feelings about the theme, I’d like to give my COD to the Xerxes clue for 30ac:  

11 backing intercourse with king (6)

Original blog is complete and here.

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1020 by Phi”

  1. jonofwales said

    I felt quietly pleased with myself when I managed to get all the operas from the wordplay, despite a slight feeling of anxiety when I saw the theme. If Phi could set for the i every day, I’d be perfectly content. 🙂

    • Cornick said

      Yup, if I’m honest about it the wordplay for Jenufa probably didn’t need checking – if only I’d trusted the setter a little more. Phi is really consistently fair and good, innit. Now, with today’s paper as yet unread, to see if Dac is too…!

Comments are closed.

