i Cryptic Crossword 1016 Virgilius

May 13, 2014

An unusual puzzle from Virgilius. Reasonably straightforward, though with one or two (I’m looking at you, 27ac) that weren’t that immediately obvious as regards a full explanation.

Not really possible to pick a COD today, as they were all of a type, but here’s the 2009 blog, which is complete.

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2009/05/05/independent-7036-by-virgilius/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1016 Virgilius”

  1. emvee said

    I thought this was one of the finest crosswords we’ve had so far – the usual brilliantly high standard from Virgilius and such a great theme. I’m still a bit stuck on the NW corner but learning the word “xeric” as a result of 27A has been the highlight of the day for me so far 🙂

  2. jonofwales said

    I eventually finished in the NW corner, definitely the toughest of the puzzle. Took a punt in the end with a couple of likely answers and everything fell into place…

  3. Cornick said

    Luckily I remembered Justice Shallow from being in the play about 30 years ago! With that one in, and being old enough to have spent a few schillings in my time, the NW corner yielded as obligingly as the rest of this brilliant piece of work.
    A while ago I pointed out Phi’s habit of starting with a theme like this but not really following through – you can see why; to do this for a whole grid seems to me to be a phenomenal achievement!

Comments are closed.

