i Cryptic Crossword 1013 Tyrus

May 9, 2014

I feel slightly better now I’ve found that Peter Biddlecombe, ex Times Crossword champion, also struggled with this one. I’ve barely scratched the surface in the time I had available today. Can we have less old prize crosswords on a Friday, please?

Here’s the 2009 blog.

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2009/05/14/independent-7040-sat-9-may-tyrus/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1013 Tyrus”

  1. dtw42 said

    God yes; I had terrible trouble with this, and only solved about a third of it on my own. With my girlfriend’s help we got to within about four of the end, and then gave up as it was getting late. Didn’t spot the perimeter message – why would you?

    *Fewer old prize crosswords, shurely? 😉

  2. Cornick said

    When I struggled, as I also did, I thought ‘perhaps it’s hard because it’s got a perimeter message’. Why? a) because it’s the Indy, and they do them a lot and b) because perimeter messages often force weird words into the grid. Having said that, the quote was new to me and the only bits of the theme I spotted were John Thaw and The Sweeney, so it didn’t help much!

Comments are closed.

